Real Life Testimonials from my Clients...

Small Group Personal Training : Client Testimonials
Avg. Client Review (5.0 Stars):

Number of Testimonials: 17


This is not the typical "get lost in the crowd" boot camp class. Each session is limited to 10 participants. This enables each person to receive individual attention and support during the session. We find the smaller group size helps to maximize your results. Weight loss, increased athletic performance and body transformation are all benefits that can be achieved in the Small Group Personal Training sessions. Details here.

Bookmarks facebook myspace
Email a Friend about this class Recomend to a friend
Printer friendly format Printer friendly format



review program
17 testimonials available


Truly love these classes. I feel stronger after a few weeks and leave each week feeling incredibly supported by Tim and other gym goers. Going is always a highlight of my day!, December 05, 2016
Reviewer: Sara K. from Houston, TX

0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Truly love these classes. I feel stronger after a few weeks and leave each week feeling incredibly supported by Tim and other gym goers. Going is always a highlight of my day!

Was this review helpful?  




The instructor coached my form and mobility, and helped me stay focused..., July 21, 2016
Reviewer: Karen L. from Houston, TX

0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first class here and I am hooked. I want to push and pull to obtain my goal of loosing weight and increase my strength. The instructor coached my form and mobility, and helped me stay focused.

Awesome class!!

Was this review helpful?  




The workout really was one of the best I've had in a long time..., January 26, 2016
Reviewer: Tiffany C. from Houston, TX

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My first visit to the small group personal training session was great. Tim was fantastic - he asked me about the frequency of my previous exercises and encouraged me to move at a pace that I was comfortable with.

He checked my form on every station and explained anything I didn't understand. The other participants in the group were very helpful and friendly, making the atmosphere incredibly comfortable. The workout really was one of the best I've had in a long time.


Was this review helpful?  




Tim and his group made me feel so comfortable, November 02, 2015
Reviewer: Teresia P from Houston, TX

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Today was my first day in a small group personal training with Tim! Boy was I in for a surprise. The studio was easy to find. It was nicely organized , but most of all Tim and his group made me feel so comfortable. I thought I had it made in the shade until we got down to that butt kick exercise. This group is not your ordinary group, there wasn't one person who wasn't friendly. I will be look for other classes here as well!

Was this review helpful?  




The small group itself is so encouraging and Tim is simply amazing. , May 20, 2015
Reviewer: Holley O. from Houston, TX

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have been attending small group training for the past month and I have to say that this is one of the best workout sessions that I have attended in a while! The small group itself is so encouraging and Tim is simply amazing. He listens to your personal goals and helps you to achieve them. He has a variety of unique activities to practice strength and cardio training during each session.I look forward to attending class every week, they are almost like a fitness family to me!! I like the fact that Tim takes the time to make sure you are completing every exercise correctly and always motivates you throughout the work out. This is truly a great program! I would recommend it to friends and family for sure! This is the place to be!! :)

-Holley Offlee

Was this review helpful?  




I have been training with Tim for years and it has been wonderful., May 03, 2015
Reviewer: Mike D from Houston, TX

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have been training with Tim for years and it has been wonderful. He has a wealth of knowledge which he passes on to his students by varying their exercise routines. I will walk into Tim's studio after a tough and tiring day at the office but I walk out worn-out but invigorated. I highly recommend his services.

Was this review helpful?  




I started my training 2 months ago and have been extremely happy going to The Edge Personal Training., May 01, 2015
Reviewer: MaryAnn T from Houston, TX

20 of 20 people found this review helpful

Tim Mousel has been great! I started my training 2 months ago and have been extremely happy going to The Edge Personal Training every day since I first started. He knows what goals everyone is trying to meet and makes sure he pushes just enough every time to remind you. I started with 3 days a week of training and now I'm up to 5 days a week. Tim teaches proper form, which is awesome, and explains what each exercise is meant to target...LOVE THAT! Thank you TIM!!

Was this review helpful?  




This is by far the best training I have ever received and the absolute best decision I have ever made., April 30, 2015
Reviewer: Jessica B from Houston, TX

21 of 21 people found this review helpful

This is by far the best training I have ever received and the absolute best decision I have ever made. The Trainers at The Edge and Mousel's Mixed Martial Arts are phenomenal!!! Tim Mousel is more than a trainer, he is a life style coach. He has changed my life in every positive way possible... my physique, my endurance, my mind-set, decision making, confidence, nutrition.... I can go on and on. The comradery, inspiration and motivation between the entire Edge and Mousel's Mixed Martial Arts family is irreplaceable and beyond compare. I guarantee Tim will make sure you exceed any personal goal you have ever imagined for yourself.

Was this review helpful?  




Tim does a wonderful job of making sure you have the correct form when working out while also making you work hard for results., April 29, 2015
Reviewer: Meredith Z from Houston, TX

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have done both the Strength and Conditioning classes as well as the Thai Kickboxing and Tim does a wonderful job of making sure you have the correct form when working out while also making you work hard for results. I have been going here for a couple of weeks now, and I think I will keep coming back. Tim takes the time to introduce himself and make sure you are welcomed as a member and everyone in the class is always very helpful.

Was this review helpful?  




I'm gonna like it here..., April 06, 2015
Reviewer: Ivan C from Houston, TX

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My first workout in almost a year- and it kicked my ass. Think I'm gonna like it here.

Was this review helpful?  




It was a great workout, with a hard-working and friendly group., February 06, 2015
Reviewer: Jolie A from Houston, TX

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I went to Small Group Personal Training on Monday, and I'm still sore (it's Friday now)! Tim kept telling me I could take it easy on the exercises, since it was my first time, but I just kept going, apparently longer than I should have. It was a great workout, with a hard-working and friendly group. Tim walked me through each part of the circuit and helped out with my form. I'll definitely be going back!!

Was this review helpful?  




The classes give you a real workout without getting bored or overwhelmed., January 17, 2015
Reviewer: Erin H from Houston, TX

23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I have never been athletic or participated in sports. 2 years ago I was introduced to Tim at one of his women's self defense classes. I really enjoyed the class and began attending muay thai and grappling classes at The Edge. It was the first time I actually enjoyed working out. The classes give you a real workout without getting bored or overwhelmed. Tim has many years of experience, he is very relatable and knowledgeable about personal training, self defense as well as martial arts. I would highly recommend his classes.

Was this review helpful?  




After a few years of guidance and encouragement from Tim, I haven't just lost 130 plus pounds. I have also taken his course on being a personal trainer, August 13, 2014
Reviewer: Ryan B from Houston, TX

23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I first came across Tim as a trainer a few years ago at a weight of over 300 pounds. And after a few years of guidance and encouragement from Tim, I lost 130 plus pounds. I have also taken his course on being a personal trainer and found a passion in it myself. This is easily one of, if not the best places I've ever come across in personal training and fitness.

Was this review helpful?  




I've met my weight loss goals working with Tim at The Edge, June 18, 2014
Reviewer: Josh B from Houston, TX

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I've met my weight loss goals working with Tim at The Edge. Even so, I've continued my workouts there. I encourage anyone in need of a solid personal training program to visit the Edge.

Was this review helpful?  




This is a great personal training studio! Great location, cool facility and top expert instruction., June 16, 2014
Reviewer: Jade L from Houston, TX

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is a great personal training studio! Great location, cool facility and top expert instruction.

Was this review helpful?  




Working out with Tim is challenging and fun., June 04, 2014
Reviewer: Amy D from Houston, TX

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

Working out with Tim is challenging and fun. Every day is a new combination of exercises, but always a good blend of cardio, weights, and ab work. The class size is small and comfortable. Everyone can work at their own intensity level and pace. Tim is also great at giving tips on form and how to amp up or modify the exercise if you need a challenge or to accommodate an injury. Highly recommend you give it a try.

Was this review helpful?  




Tim is easily one of the very best trainers and instructors I've ever worked with., May 07, 2014
Reviewer: Deirdre T from Houston, TX

20 of 20 people found this review helpful

Tim is easily one of the very best trainers and instructors I've ever worked with. He has a vast knowledge of strength and conditioning training, and a great ability to motivate and teach. No to mention that his expertise as a martial arts instructor is of the highest level!

Was this review helpful?  





He will soon be a 3-time World Boxing Champion!


He lost 50 pounds!

 

Vision is the art of seeing the invisible and I want to thank Tim Mousel for seeing what I see and what I've already seen twice. At this stage of my career the chance of me winning a 3rd World Title is out of the ball park to the non-believers.

 

They don't know of my secret weapon (Tim Mousel) and what he brings to Team Johnson and the mission at hand. Tim's job is to make me bigger, faster, and stronger in which will not only give me the physical edge but the mental edge as well as we pursue World Title number three and secure my spot in the Boxing Hall Of Fame. I know what the non-believers response is to Tim Mousel's job, How could that be so..... and yea right....... Well here's a reminder from my 3 year and 8 month layoff and return to the ring against the # 15 guy in the World:

 

 

Reggie Johnson knocked out Fred Moore
Fred Moore after a vicious knockout at the hands of Reggie "Sweet" Johnson!

World Champion Reggie Johnson
Reggie "Sweet" Johnson moments after knocking out #15 world ranked Fred Moore.


Reggie Johnson Boxing Champion
The Champ!!!

 

-Reggie "Sweet" Johnson
• Former NABF light heavyweight champion, one successful defense
• Former USBA light heavyweight champion
• World championship fights: 7-5
• Former IBF light heavyweight world champion, two successful defenses
• Former WBA middleweight world champion, three successful defenses
• Former USBA middleweight champion, three successful title defenses
www.ReggieSweetJohnson.com
4/7/2006

 

He lost over 50 pounds...


He lost 50 pounds!

I got in touch with Tim Mousel a few months before I began training with him in Houston, giving him all my basic info – my name was Timur “Ty” Yilmaz, I was an engineering student enrolled at the University of Texas at Austin, and I would be in Houston for the summer working 40-50 hours a week, but with the full intent to train. I also told him I was interested in a variety of things, from fitness (I was very out of condition and overweight, to put it lightly) to self-defense and competition fighting, though I had no real prior experience. Tim replied that his program sounded like it would fit with my needs very well, and looking back on it he couldn’t have been more right.

 

I was able to accomplish two goals that had been with me for years: I lost over 50 pounds over the course of just two and a half months with Tim Mousel, from mid-June until the end of August; as well, I was finally able to begin learning effective, useful martial arts, from boxing to combat grappling. Until August, due to work I was only able to meet with Tim once a week over the weekends, where I would get a private lesson, covering something new each time but with a constant review of what was previously learned – every time was new, a learning experience, and while physically demanding, very satisfying. To say the least, every private was well worth the price. I was inspired to buy a bit of equipment and train on my own from time to time during the week under a light regiment suggested to me by Tim Mousel, the best conditioning trainer I have ever had the pleasure of working with. He was also able to give me advice on nutrition, providing me with answers to any of my questions on that subject or any other, which was important to me cause I’m the kind of guy that likes to know the “why” behind everything.

 

In August, things took yet another turn in a good direction. I took several weeks off from work before I was going to return to school, but rather than sit on the couch all day, I decided to take a more aggressive approach with my training. After a quick consolation with Tim, I began training privately with him six days a week, anywhere from three to four hours a day. The regime was intense and tailored to fit my needs exactly – during every meeting, we would spend one to three hours on martial arts (going over Jeet Kune Do, Muay Thai, boxing, combat grappling, and even knife defense in a unique blend that only Tim can manage), then five days a week I would run hills for conditioning behind the place we trained at. In addition, three days a week I would do weight training under Tim’s supervision. Finally, I’d spend the weekend sparring against some of Tim’s other students, allowing me a chance to put what I’d learned to use and track my progress as time went on.

 

With little effort, anyone could find a dozen big-name notable fighters that Tim has molded and trained, but my story is about a regular guy with no prior experience having his life changed. Tim’s inspired me to continue training in martial arts, even while I am in Austin – with his network of contacts, it’s likely that he knows or can find other amazing trainers anywhere. Every time I come to Houston, I look up Tim for as much private training as I can fit in. I look forward to the upcoming summer for the opportunity in training it will provide once more. I fully intend to continue my training for years to come, to get into better shape and become an even better fighter.

 

-Timur "Ty" Yilmaz
4/5/2006

 

Full-time school teacher achieves his goals...


Few would question the logic of the old sports adage that to be the best you must train with the best. Accepting the truth and validity of this piece of conventional wisdom, no one embodies it more than Tim Mousel, owner and head instructor of Mousel Self-Defense Academy (MSDA). As his portfolio includes some of the world’s greatest masters such as Dan Inosanto, Rickson Gracie, Surachai Sirisute, Eric Paulson, and Larry Hartsell, Mousel is a virtual encyclopedia of striking and submission techniques, combat strategies, conditioning protocols, and real-world, street-smart, approaches to dealing with countless self-defense situations.

Considering his incredible background and almost regal lineage in the martial arts world, it would easy to assume that Tim Mousel would be unapproachable and even, perhaps, a bit arrogant. This is about as far from the truth as possible. Tim’s manner and teaching style belies his honest, hard-working, mid-western background. He is friendly, relaxed, and always ready to address questions or concerns over techniques or concepts. Tim also has a great sense of humor and seems to really enjoy what he does, however he does not sacrifice focus and the necessary discipline that is needed to take martial arts students to the next level-wherever that may be.

Of the many advantages of training at MSDA, the one that impresses me most is the variety of quality training that is offered. Here you will find traditional Muay Thai kick boxing, AND technical submission wrestling that not only encompasses Brazilain Jiu-Jitsu, but also features techniques from freestyle wrestling and Shooto. Classes in Jeet Kune Do Concepts and the rare (in this part of the world) Philipino Kali are also offered. MSDA is basically a “one- stop- shop” for all your combat needs. It is also worth noting that as Tim eschews the kimono/belt ranking system and all the political trappings and hype that it entails, he is able to keep his fees at a much more modest level than most schools in town, yet sacrificing nothing in terms of quality and content. Leave your new gi with the latest tribal designs and pit bull patches at home. A modestly priced school t-shirt, a pair of shorts, and a good attitude is all you need here.

 

If MMA is your thing, you should know that Tim Mousel was the first coach in Houston to send fighters to the UFC- years before most people knew that the “Octagon” was more than just the shape of a stop sign. Tim has countless hours of experience training top fighters for MMA, pro-boxing, kick-boxing, and submission wrestling competitions. Many MSDA team members have found themselves in the winner’s circle at the end of the day thanks to the training and tutelage that they received under Tim Mousel’s watchful eye and solid instruction.

As a 40 year-old, full-time, school teacher and father of three, my goals are modest and don’t include trophies, belts, and cash purses. I simply want to be able to defend myself and family, maintain a superior level of physical fitness, and enjoy the intrinsic challenge of learning technical martial arts skills. Tim helps me achieve these goals with the same commitment and effort that he gives to his professional fighters.

I have had the honor of working with Tim in both private and group instruction for about two years now. He is punctual, professional, courteous, and above all, committed to his student’s improvement. He has helped me grow tremendously as a martial artist and has given me the skill development and technique to improve on previously neglected areas of my game. Whatever your training goals and stylistic preferences may be, rest assured that MSDA will have something for you.

 

-Chris Strane
School Teacher

4/7/2006


After a lot of extensive research, he chose Mousel's Self-Defense Academy ...


I have been training in the martial arts for over 21 years.  I have dedicated myself to seeking out and training with some the best martial arts instructors in the world.  When I moved to Houston, after doing some research, I started training with Tim Mousel. 

 

Tim has the broadest base of practical, effective martial arts knowledge of anyone in Texas and possibly in the Southwest United States.  Tim has instructor certification from many internationally-known martial artists and is certified to teach empty hand, weapons, grappling and self-defense techniques.  Tim is extremely humble and continues to train, improve and learn new things in order to give his students the most up-to-date information. 

 

Although he holds many titles such as "Sensei" "Sifu" and "Guro", Tim does not use any of these but prefers that people just call him "Tim."  I am proud to call Tim my instructor."

 

-Johnathan Bolton
Attorney
4/10/2006


Great training at a great value!


At Mousel's Self-Defense Academy we train hard, but safe. If you are a beginer or a novice this is where to come if you want to learn what works and what is the most effective against everything. Tim takes the best parts out of many styles and incorporates them into a training regimine that will get you in shape and mentally prepared so that the moves become second nature.

 

Whether you want to learn hand and foot fighting, boxing, clinch fighting, or on the ground (grappling and submissions), this is the place to call home. Did I mention all this at a great value! Nuff Said.

 

Terry Chilson
Student
4/28/2006

Click Here to Get Started Today!